Flores connected beautifully with a Michael Duffy’s driven corner to slam the ball into the top corner of the net for one of the most spectacular strikes you’ll see in a long, long time.

The goal has gone viral, with more than three million fans watching the original video posted to Irish broadcaster RTE’s social media channels, while media outlets across Europe are hailing the strike.

Sky Sports dubbed it a “wonder volley” while respected football website France Football called it “La folle reprise de volee” which translates as “The Crazy Volley.”

Spanish outlet AS suggested it was so good that no other strike this year could beat it to FIFA’s Goal of the Year award.

“The 2020 Puskas Award has just been ‘won’ by Dundalk’s Jordan Flores,” it declared.

Meanwhile, the Twitter account for ESPN’s flagship highlight show SportsCenter tweeted the clip with the all-caps headline, “THIS GOAL IS CRAZY.”

It’s certainly right up there with the best volleys we’ve seen, and it’s going to take some strike to beat it in the 2020 goal of the year stakes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Team of the Day: Montreal Canadiens

With the 2019-20 NHL season on hold we are going to take a look at where each NHL team stands at this moment with a series of posts examining their season. Have they met expectations? Exceeded expectations? Who has been…

How to watch Scotland vs France in the Six Nations today

Scotland’s penultimate Six Nations match against France is set to go ahead, despite the women’s encounter being called off on Friday night after a Scottish player contracted coronavirus. The Scottish Rugby Union confirmed that the player in question is being treated…

British racing legend Sir Stirling Moss dies

Formula One legend Sir Stirling Moss has died at the age of 90. One of the most iconic figures in the history of British sport, with 212 wins from 529 races, Sir Stirling passed away in the early hours of Easter morning. Widely known as…

All-Star MVP Award named in honor of Kobe Bryant

The National Basketball Association All-Star Game MVP Award has been permanently named for the late Kobe Bryant, league Commissioner Adam Silver said on Saturday. Original source: China Daily