Republican N.Y. Rep. Tom Reed says the judge got it right on ‘Fox & Friends.’

People traveling to New York, New Jersey and Connecticut from eight additional states will have to quarantine for 14 days upon entering, bringing the total number of states on the governors’ “travel advisory” list to 16, officials said Tuesday.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo, a Democrat, announced in a press release Tuesday morning that travelers coming from the following states must quarantine:

Earlier in the day, New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont announced plans to adopt the same mandate in a bid to keep the number of novel coronavirus cases in their respective states under control.


“As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, New York is taking action to maintain the precarious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening,” Cuomo said in a statement provided with a statement.  “We’ve set metrics for community spread just as we’ve set metrics for everything the state does to fight COVID-19, and eight more states have reached the level of spread required to qualify for New York’s travel advisory.”

Cuomo had said last week that he, along with the Connecticut and New Jersey governors, would implement a mandatory 14-day quarantine for any person traveling from states with high coronavirus infection rates.


The announcement came as summer travel to the states’ beaches, parks and other attractions — not to mention New York City — would normally swing into high gear.

It also marked a flip-flop in the COVID-19 battle since March, when Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis and Texas Gov. Greg Abbott, both Republicans, separately issued orders requiring people flying in from the New York tri-state area, where cases were surging, to quarantine for 14 days.

Enforcement varies by state. The Cuomo administration said violators in New York will be subject to mandatory quarantine and face fines from $2,000 to $10,000. Violators could be discovered at business meetings or during a traffic stop, he said.

The quarantine applies to people coming from states with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents on a seven-day average, or with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over seven days.

As of Thursday, states over the threshold were Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas.

Fox News’ Kathleen Foster and Maria Paronich and The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Nigerian women speak out after wave of sexual violence

There is widespread outrage in Nigeria following the murder of a 22-year-old university student in a church where she was studying in the southern city of Benin. The family of Uwavera Omozuwa, known as Uwa, say she was brutally raped…

Minnesota Gov. Walz asks Trump for disaster declaration after George Floyd riots trigger over $500M in damages

Fox News Flash top headlines are here. Check out what’s clicking on Minnesota Gov. Tim Walz has asked President Trump for a federal disaster declaration in his state due to “extensive fire damage” and other destruction in the unrest…

Henderson helps set up Premier League fund for NHS

Jordan Henderson has contacted his fellow Premier League captains to organise a coronavirus fund that will raise millions of pounds for the NHS. Premier League footballers were singled out by Health Secretary Matt Hancock on Thursday for not “playing their…

Trump to announce executive, legislative actions on police reform: sources

The president stands firm during his roundtable with law enforcement officials at the White House; John Roberts reports. President Trump will soon have a list of police reform proposals that can be accomplished through a combination of executive and legislative action…