Connor Hellebuyck of the Jets, Tuukka Rask of the Bruins and Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Lightning have been named the three finalists for the 2019-20 Vezina Trophy. The award, which is voted on by the NHL’s 31 general managers, is given to the goaltender “adjudged to be the best at this position.”

Vasilevskiy was a first-time winner last season.

The winner will be announced during the conference finals.

[2020 NHL Stanley Cup Qualifiers schedule]

The case for Connor Hellebuyck: The Jets netminder was a workhorse this season leading all goalies in games played (58), shots faced (1,796), saves (1,656), and was second in minutes played (3,268:33). His .929 5-on-5 save percentage was fifth-best in the NHL and his six shutouts were tops in the league. How valuable was he for Winnipeg? He helped his team win 31 of their 37 games during the regular season and he faced 37-or-more shots in 13 games, posting a .948 save percentage over that span. A win would make him the first in franchise history to capture the Vezina.

The case for Tuukka Rask: No goalie in the NHL had a better 5-on-5 save percentage (.941) or goals saved above average (19.69) than the Bruins netminder. He was right behind Hellebuyck in shutouts with five. Along with Jaroslav Halak, the Boston tandem won the William Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders on the team allowing the fewest regular-season goals. Rask won the award back in 2013-14.

The case for Andrei Vasilevskiy: He led all goaltenders in wins (35), was third in overall ice time (3,121:54), was fourth in goals saved above average (9.77), and was sixth in even strength save percentage (.927) among netminders with at least 40 starts. One of Vasilevskiy’s highlights was leading the Lightning on a 21-game point streak (19-0-2) and helping them win 21 of his final 27 regular season starts. This is the third straight season he’s been a finalist and he would become the first back-to-back winner of the award since Martin Brodeur in 2006-07 and 2007-08.

Ted Lindsay Award: Leon Draisaitl, Nathan MacKinnon, Artemi Panarin
Calder Trophy: Quinn Hughes, Cale Makar, Dominik Kubalik
Jack Adams Award: Bruce Cassidy, John Tortorella, Alain Vigneault
• Masterton Trophy: Stephen Johns, Oskar Lindblom, Bobby Ryan

Lady Byng Trophy: Nathan MacKinnon, Auston Matthews, Ryan O’Reilly
• Monday, July 20: Norris Trophy, Selke Trophy
• Tuesday, July 21: Hart Trophy


Sean Leahy is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at or follow him on Twitter @Sean_Leahy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

King forced to step down as Rangers chairman after entering quarantine

Dave King revealed South Africa’s authorities have scuppered his plans to stay on as Rangers chairman and lead the club’s response to the coronavirus crisis. Johannesburg-based King says he planned to delay his departure from the Ibrox board in the…

‘I’ll never lose to a white boy’: Boxer Devin Haney brags that Vasyl Lomachenko’s RACE means he will never beat champ (VIDEO)

Rising star Haney is undefeated in his 24-fight career and became one of the youngest title holders in history when he became WBC lightweight champion last year, but his surprising comments are unlikely to win him many new fans after…

Murray makes worrying admission over hip rehabilitation

Andy Murray may need to have another operation as he continues his bid to return to top-level tennis. The former world number one has not played a match since November’s Davis Cup finals after being diagnosed with what was initially…

‘At any cost’: Japan’s Olympic minister says postponed Tokyo Games MUST take place in 2021

“Everyone involved is working together to prepare and the athletes are also making considerable efforts towards next year,” she said, per BBC Sport. “We have to hold the Games at any cost. I want to concentrate all our efforts on…